Illustration Portfolio Showroom Interface

Portfolio/Showroom enable artists and scientists to announce, store and publish their own work and to exchange ideas with colleagues.

The Web applications Portfolio and Showroom constitute the foundation for the development of a Current Research Information System (CRIS). It is based on open source technologies (OSS) with a focus on usability and enables its users to manage, store and publish research data and artistic content in heterogeneous formats.

Portfolio/Showroom employ standards and interfaces of existing long-term archiving systems at the institutions and are designed to be used by other research institutions as well. As an OSS, the system also provides incentives for start-ups to develop complementary apps (open innovation).

Our objective is to use Portfolio/Showroom to implement complementary data management for artists and scientists in an intuitive system that closes the infrastructural gap between daily work processes and long-term archiving: Portfolio enables artists and scientists to already compile their data during the implementation of their projects. Data importing and structuring is based on processes and nomenclatures familiar to users via widespread web applications (for example, video and photography portals). In addition, Portfolio provides users with the ability to manage data (e.g., grant access to other users, specify provenance, manage lending, etc.).

The artistic and scientific content published in Showroom is public and features social media tools that support subscribing, communicating, and hierarchizing information. In addition to the functional scope and the individual usability of Portfolio, Showroom facilitates an exchange within the relevant community and between the community and an interested public (Citizen Science) in accordance with the “Vienna Principles”. Project measures include the establishment of expert peer groups as well as a personnel and technical infrastructure for joint development and programming of the applications.

Project activities include the establishment of expert peer groups, as well as a personnel and technical infrastructure for joint development and programming of the applications.

 

 

Portfolio

Portfolio enables artists and scientists to gather their data during the implementation of their projects. Data importing and structuring is based on processes and nomenclatures that are familiar to users via widespread web applications (for example, video and photography portals). In addition, Portfolio provides the ability to manage the registered data (e.g., grant access to other users, specify provenance, manage lending, etc.) and to export it in various formats (e.g., bibliography, list of works, etc.).

Showroom

The content published in Showroom is public and features social media tools that support subscribing, communicating, and hierarchizing information. In addition to the functional scope and the individual usability of Portfolio, Showroom facilitates an exchange within the relevant community and between the community and an interested public (Citizen Science) in accordance with the “Vienna Principles”.

For universities and non-university research institutions

Issue

Universities and non-university research institutions need to archive and provide a wide range of research and academic data. Recent years have seen the establishment of various standards and the creation of infrastructure to ensure intra- and inter-university exchange of such data. Open access for publications and research data is now regarded by many universities and non-university research institutions as a self-defined goal or as an objective stipulated by funding authorities. It turns out, however, that while many publications and research data are made available via open access, this is done on commercial platforms that can use this data freely (e.g., mandatory logins), rather than on institutional repositories and document servers.

Solution

Portfolio/Showroom close the gap between artistic and scientific works and their promulgation, which currently takes place on various social media platforms. Portfolio/Showroom put the needs of artists and scientists at the forefront of development. The applications are based on user stories and requirements that have been collected in relevant communities and take into account workflows that users already apply.
Portfolio/Showroom employ standards and interfaces of existing long-term archiving systems at the institutions. International standards, such as the FAIR principles and euroCRIS/CERIF, are essential foundations for development and should ensure sustainable use.
As open source software, Portfolio/Showroom are designed to be used by third parties as well, which in turn can provide incentives for start-ups to develop complementary apps (open innovation).

For Developers

Open Innovation

DevTalk

Transfer of service and maintenance

Additional Features

Search

The search feature in Showroom encompasses all Showroom instances on the network, as well as all CRIS that use a euroCRIS interface.

Open

The applications are based on open source technologies (OSS). Universities and non-university research institutions have access to the source code and can customise the software to their needs. The applications are free, developed by universities for universities.

Usability

Strong focus on usability and user experience

Curated areas

One Stop-Shop

Linked Data

Portfolio/Showroom access interfaces that are provided by already installed software infrastructure. This allows you to easily integrate the existing repository, the campus administration, etc.

Evaluations

Evaluations for the universities’ reporting systems: The information contained in Showroom (publications, lectures, co-operations, etc.) can be used or evaluated for external reports, such as knowledge balances.

Data Management Plan

Ethical and Legal Issues

Semantic Web und Controlled Vocabulary

Library catalogue

Linked to the library catalogue

Community

Responsive

Accessible

University of Applied Arts Vienna 2017

Illustration Portfolio Showroom Interface

Portfolio/Showroom ermöglicht es Künstler/innen und Wissenschaftler/innen, eigene Arbeiten anzukündigen, zu sichern und veröffentlichen und sich mit Kolleg/innen auszutauschen.

Mit den Webapplikationen Portfolio und Showroom wird ein Current Research Information System (CRIS) entwickelt. Es basiert auf Open Source-Technologien (OSS) mit Fokus auf Usability und ermöglicht seinen Nutzer/innen die Verwaltung, Sicherung und Veröffentlichung von Forschungsdaten und künstlerischen Inhalten in heterogenen Formaten.

Portfolio/Showroom greifen auf Maßstäbe und Schnittstellen bereits an den Institutionen bestehender Langzeitarchivierungssysteme zurück und sind darauf ausgelegt, auch von weiteren Forschungsstätten genutzt zu werden. Als OSS bietet das System zudem Anreize für Start-ups, ergänzende Apps zu entwickeln (Open Innovation).

Ziel ist, mit Portfolio/Showroom ein komplementäres Datenmanagement für Künstler/innen und Wissenschaftler/innen als intuitives System zu implementieren, das die infrastrukturelle Lücke zwischen den täglichen Arbeitsprozessen und der Langzeitarchivierung schließt: In Portfolio erfassen Künstler/innen und Wissenschaftler/innen ihre Daten bereits während der Umsetzung ihrer Projekte. Einspielen und Strukturieren der Daten orientieren sich dabei an Abläufen und Nomenklaturen, die den Nutzer/innen durch weitverbreitete Webapplikationen (z.B. Video-/Fotoportale, Artsy.net) geläufig sind. Zudem bietet Portfolio den Nutzer/innen die Möglichkeit, Daten zu verwalten (z.B. Zugriff für andere Nutzer/innen, Provenienz, Verleih etc.). Die in Showroom publizierten künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen Inhalte sind öffentlich, wobei Social Media-Tools dabei unterstützen, Informationen zu abonnieren, zu kommunizieren sowie zu hierarchisieren.

Ergänzend zum funktionalen Umfang und der individuellen Nutzbarkeit von Portfolio ermöglicht Showroom den Austausch innerhalb der relevanten Community und einer interessierten Öffentlichkeit (Citizen Science), gemäß der „Vienna Principles“.

Die Projektmaßnahmen umfassen den Aufbau von Expert/innen-Peer Groups sowie einer personellen und technischen Infrastruktur zur gemeinsamen Entwicklung und Programmierung der Applikationen.

Portfolio

In Portfolio erfassen Künstler/innen und Wissenschaftler/innen ihre Daten bereits während der Umsetzung ihrer Projekte. Einspielen und Strukturieren der Daten orientieren sich dabei an Abläufen und Nomenklaturen, die den Nutzer/innen durch weitverbreitete Webapplikationen (z.B. Video-/Fotografieportale, Artsy.net) geläufig sind. Zudem bietet Portfolio die Möglichkeit, die eingetragenen Daten zu verwalten (z.B. Zugriff für andere Nutzer/innen, Provenienz, Verleih etc.) und in unterschiedlichen Formaten zu exportieren (z.B. Bibliografie, Werkliste etc.).

Showroom

Die in Showroom publizierten Inhalte sind öffentlich, wobei Social Media-Tools dabei unterstützen, Informationen zu abonnieren, zu kommunizieren sowie zu hierarchisieren. Ergänzend zum funktionalen Umfang und der individuellen Nutzbarkeit von Portfolio ermöglicht Showroom den Austausch innerhalb der relevanten Community und einer interessierten Öffentlichkeit (Citizen Science), gemäß der „Vienna Principles“.

Für Universitäten und außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen

Problem

Universitäten und außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen müssen eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Daten aus Forschung und Lehre archivieren und zur Verfügung stellen. In den letzten Jahren wurden unterschiedliche Standards festgelegt und Infrastruktur geschaffen, um einen intra- und interuniversitären Austausch dieser Daten zu gewährleisten. Open Access für Publikationen und Forschungsdaten gilt für viele Universitäten und außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen mittlerweile als selbstdefiniertes oder durch die Fördergeber/innen vorgegebenes Ziel. Dabei zeigt sich aber, dass viele Publikationen und Forschungsdaten zwar Open Access zur Verfügung gestellt werden, dies jedoch auf kommerziellen Plattformen, die über diese Daten beliebig weiterverfügen können (u.a. Login-Pflicht), und nicht auf den institutionellen Repositorien und Dokumentenservern der Institutionen erfolgt.

Lösung

Portfolio/Showroom schließen die Lücke zwischen der künstlerischen und wissenschaftlichen Arbeit und deren Kommunikation, die derzeit über unterschiedliche Social Media-Plattformen abläuft. Portfolio/Showroom stellen die Bedürfnisse der Künstler/innen und Wissenschaftler/innen in den Mittelpunkt der Entwicklung. Die Applikationen basieren auf user stories und Anforderungen, die in relevanten Communities erhoben wurden und berücksichtigt Arbeitsabläufe, wie sie die Nutzer/innen bereits jetzt anwenden. 
Portfolio/Showroom greifen auf Maßstäbe und Schnittstellen der Langzeitarchivierungssysteme zurück, die an den Institutionen bestehen. Internationale Standards, wie beispielsweise die FAIR-Prinzipien und euroCRIS/CERIF, sind wesentliche Fundamente der Entwicklung und sollen eine nachhaltige Nutzung sicherstellen. 
Als Open Source-Software sind Portfolio/Showroom darauf ausgelegt, auch von Dritten nachgenutzt zu werden, was wiederum beispielsweise Anreize für Start-ups bieten kann, ergänzende Apps zu entwickeln (Open Innovation)

Für Entwickler/innen

Open Innovation

DevTalk

Übernahme von Services und Wartung

Weitere Eigenschaften

Suche

Die Suche im Showroom umfasst alle Showroom-Instanzen des Verbundes sowie alle CRIS, die über eine euroCRIS-Schnittstelle verfügen.

Offen

Die Applikationen basieren auf Open Source-Technologien (OSS). Universitäten und außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen haben Einblick in den Quellcode, können die Software an ihre Anforderungen anpassen und die Applikationen liegen kostenlos vor, entwickelt von Universitäten für Universitäten.

Usability

Starker Fokus auf Usability und user Experience.

Kuratierte Bereiche

One Stop-Shop

Linked Data

Portfolio/Showroom greifen auf die Schnittstellen zu, die Ihre bereits Installierte Software-Infrastruktur zur Verfügung stellen. Damit können Sie das bestehende Repositorium, die Campusverwaltung etc. leicht einbinden.

Auswertungen

Auswertungen für das Berichtswesen der Universitäten: Die in Showroom enthaltenen Informationen (Publikationen, Vorträge, Kooperationen etc.) können für die externen Berichte, wie zum Beispiel die Wissensbilanz, verwendet bzw. ausgewertet werden.

Data Management Plan

Ethical and Legal Issues

Semantic Web und Controlled Vocabulary

Bibliothekskatalog

Anbindung an den Bibliothekskatalog

Community

Responsive

Accessible

Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien 2017